Gruyère AOP

A French-speaking Swiss, through and through

The flavour of Switzerland since 1115, as the advertisement for Gruyère puts it. And it’s not far wrong!

Origins of the name

A document dating back to 1115 confirms that cheese was already being produced at this time in the region and in the village of Gruyères in the canton of Fribourg. Nobody actually knows how it tasted but the Count of Gruyères found it good enough to send a few of the cheeses to the Abbey of Rougemont...

The region’s reputation was established later: medieval records tell of the skill of its inhabitants who turned their cows’ milk into full-fat cheese which was sold as far away as France and Italy.

In 1602, we find the second documentary mention of a gift of cheese from the region: the government of Fribourg presented diplomats at the French embassy with 14 cheeses which are already called Gruyère. Over time, measures were taken to protect the origin of the cheese with stamps and markings. The word “Gruyère” was accepted into the dictionary of the Académie française in 1762.

Extension of the production region

Substantial emigration from Fribourg in the 18th and 19th centuries extended the production region of Gruyère to the cantons of Vaud, Neuchâtel and Jura and even to France. Gruyère was only provided with a controlled indication of origin (AOC) at the international level in 2001 and since 2011 it has benefited from an AOP protected indication of origin for all of Europe. Le Gruyère AOP may only be produced in the cantons of Fribourg, Vaud, Neuchâtel and Jura, in the districts of Courtelary, Moutier and La Neuveville as well as in a few neighbouring Bernese municipalities. An exception is also made for historical reasons for a couple of cheese dairies in German-speaking Switzerland.

The cheese

Le Gruyère is a hard cheese. Its paste has a smooth surface which feels slightly moist. It is tender, quite firm, a bit crumbly and ivory-coloured, depending on the season. The fruity flavours can vary according to the origin and this is emphasised further by the greater or lesser salty base notes. The salé version is particularly tart.

Detailbild

What will it be?

P_102_packshot_verkauf

Le Gruyère AOP doux

For connoisseurs who prefer fruity and mild flavours.

P_102_packshot_verkauf

Le Gruyère AOP salé

Matured for at least 10 months, with an intense aromatic flavour.

Manufacturing

All of these manufacturers have stringent specifications in common, ensuring the quality of the cheese. About 400 litres of raw milk are used to manufacture a typical 35 kg Gruyère cheese. During the maturation process which lasts several months, the cheese is turned several times and washed with brine to improve the maturation process. This gives Le Gruyère AOP its unique flavour. The formation of holes in the cheese is desirable but not essential.

We use cookies to personalise content, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use our website.

Gruyère AOP

Le représentant de la Suisse romande

« Le goût des Suisses depuis 1115 » : voilà le slogan de la publicité pour le Gruyère. Et il n’est pas mensonger…

Origine de la dénomination

Un document de 1115 atteste qu’à cette époque on fabriquait déjà du fromage dans la région du village fribourgeois de Gruyères. Aujourd’hui, il n’y a pas moyen de savoir quel goût il avait… ; cependant, le comte de Gruyères le trouvait assez bon pour en offrir quelques meules à l’Abbaye de Rougemont.

La réputation fromagère de cette région s’est construite peu à peu : les chroniques médiévales relatent le savoir-faire de ses habitants, qui transformaient le lait de leurs troupeaux en fromage gras qui se vendait jusqu’en Italie et en France.

En 1602, un document certifie à nouveau un don de fromages de la région : le gouvernement de Fribourg offrit aux délégués de l’Ambassade française 14 meules de ce qui se nommait déjà Gruyère. Au fil des ans, des mesures ont été prises pour protéger l’origine du fromage avec un tampon et des marquages. En 1762, le mot « gruyère » a fait son entrée dans le dictionnaire de l’Académie française.

Extensions géographiques

Pendant la forte émigration qui toucha Fribourg aux XVIIIe et XIXe siècles, les régions de fabrication du Gruyère furent étendues aux cantons de Vaud, de Neuchâtel, du Jura et même à la France voisine. Ce n’est qu’en 2001 que le Gruyère est devenu international grâce à une Appellation d’origine contrôlée (AOC) ; depuis 2011 il détient une Appellation d’origine protégée (AOP) dans toute l’Europe. La production de Gruyère AOP n’est permise que dans les cantons de Fribourg, de Vaud, de Neuchâtel et du Jura, dans les districts de Courtelary, de Moutier et de la Neuveville ainsi que dans quelques communes bernoises avoisinantes. Une exception est néanmoins faite, pour des raisons historiques, pour une poignée de fromageries en Suisse alémanique.

Le fromage

Le gruyère est un fromage à pâte dure. Sa pâte a une surface fine, légèrement humide au toucher. Il s’agit d’un fromage relativement dur, mais tendre, peu friable et de couleur ivoire variant selon les saisons. Les arômes fruités varient selon l’origine et sont relevés par une note plus ou moins salée. Le Gruyère salé est particulièrement corsé.

Detailbild

Et pour vous, ce sera ?

P_102_packshot_verkauf

Le Gruyère AOP doux

Particulièrement apprécié des personnes qui aiment le goût doux et fruité.

P_102_packshot_verkauf

Le Gruyère AOP salé

Affiné pendant au moins dix mois, au goût intense et aromatique.

Fabrication

Ce que tous ses producteurs ont en commun, c’est le cahier des charges stricte qui garantit la qualité du fromage. Il faut environ 400 litres de lait cru et frais pour la fabrication d’une meule de Gruyère traditionnelle de 35 kilos. Pendant les longs mois de maturation, les meules sont retournées et frottées avec de l’eau salée à plusieurs reprises, ce qui favorise l’affinage. C’est ainsi que Le Gruyère AOP obtient son goût unique. Il est préférable que le fromage ait des trous, même si ce n'est pas indispensable.

We use cookies to personalise content, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use our website.