Gruyère AOP

A French-speaking Swiss, through and through

The flavour of Switzerland since 1115, as the advertisement for Gruyère puts it. And it’s not far wrong!

Origins of the name

A document dating back to 1115 confirms that cheese was already being produced at this time in the region and in the village of Gruyères in the canton of Fribourg. Nobody actually knows how it tasted but the Count of Gruyères found it good enough to send a few of the cheeses to the Abbey of Rougemont...

The region’s reputation was established later: medieval records tell of the skill of its inhabitants who turned their cows’ milk into full-fat cheese which was sold as far away as France and Italy.

In 1602, we find the second documentary mention of a gift of cheese from the region: the government of Fribourg presented diplomats at the French embassy with 14 cheeses which are already called Gruyère. Over time, measures were taken to protect the origin of the cheese with stamps and markings. The word “Gruyère” was accepted into the dictionary of the Académie française in 1762.

Extension of the production region

Substantial emigration from Fribourg in the 18th and 19th centuries extended the production region of Gruyère to the cantons of Vaud, Neuchâtel and Jura and even to France. Gruyère was only provided with a controlled indication of origin (AOC) at the international level in 2001 and since 2011 it has benefited from an AOP protected indication of origin for all of Europe. Le Gruyère AOP may only be produced in the cantons of Fribourg, Vaud, Neuchâtel and Jura, in the districts of Courtelary, Moutier and La Neuveville as well as in a few neighbouring Bernese municipalities. An exception is also made for historical reasons for a couple of cheese dairies in German-speaking Switzerland.

The cheese

Le Gruyère is a hard cheese. Its paste has a smooth surface which feels slightly moist. It is tender, quite firm, a bit crumbly and ivory-coloured, depending on the season. The fruity flavours can vary according to the origin and this is emphasised further by the greater or lesser salty base notes. The salé version is particularly tart.

Detailbild

What will it be?

P_102_packshot_verkauf

Le Gruyère AOP doux

For connoisseurs who prefer fruity and mild flavours.

P_102_packshot_verkauf

Le Gruyère AOP salé

Matured for at least 10 months, with an intense aromatic flavour.

Manufacturing

All of these manufacturers have stringent specifications in common, ensuring the quality of the cheese. About 400 litres of raw milk are used to manufacture a typical 35 kg Gruyère cheese. During the maturation process which lasts several months, the cheese is turned several times and washed with brine to improve the maturation process. This gives Le Gruyère AOP its unique flavour. The formation of holes in the cheese is desirable but not essential.

We use cookies to personalise content, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use our website.

Gruyère AOP

Ein Westschweizer durch und durch

Der Geschmack der Schweiz sei 1115 – so heisst es in der Werbung für den Gruyère. Und ganz so falsch ist das gar nicht.

Die Herkunft des Namens

Eine Urkunde aus dem Jahr 1115 belegt, dass zu dieser Zeit in der Region um das Freiburger Städtchen Greyerz bereits Käse hergestellt worden ist. Zwar weiss niemand, wie der geschmeckt haben könnte, aber immerhin fand ihn der Graf von Greyerz gut genug, um einige Laibe der Abtei von Rougemont zu schenken…

In der Folge etablierte die Region ihren Ruf: In mittelalterlichen Aufzeichnungen wird das Können ihrer Einwohner erwähnt, die die Milch ihrer Herden zu vollfettem Käse verarbeiteten, der bis nach Frankreich und Italien verkauft wurde.

Im Jahr 1602 kam es ein zweites Mal zu einer urkundlich bezeugten Schenkung von Käse aus der Region: Die Regierung von Freiburg bot den Delegierten der französischen Botschaft vierzehn Laibe an, nun bereits unter der Bezeichnung Gruyère. Mit der Zeit wurden Massnahmen ergriffen, um den Ursprung des Käses durch Stempel und Markierungen zu schützen. Das Wort «Gruyère» wurde 1762 in das Wörterbuch der Académie française aufgenommen.

Ausdehnung des Produktionsgebiets

Eine starke Emigration, welche Freiburg im 18. und 19. Jahrhundert prägte, dehnte in der Folge das Herstellungsgebiet von Gruyère auf die Kantone Waadt, Neuenburg und Jura, ja sogar auf das benachbarte Frankreich aus. Erst 2001 wurde Gruyère international mit einer kontrollierten Ursprungsbezeichnung (AOC) versehen und seit 2011 trägt er die geschützte Ursprungsbezeichnung AOP für ganz Europa. Le Gruyère AOP darf nur in den Kantonen Freiburg, Waadt, Neuenburg und Jura, den Amtsbezirken von Courtelary, Moutier und La Neuveville sowie einigen angrenzenden bernischen Gemeinden hergestellt werden. Zudem gibt es eine historisch begründete Ausnahme für eine Handvoll Käsereien in der Deutschschweiz.

Der Käse

Le Gruyère ist ein Hartkäse. Sein Teig hat eine feine Oberfläche, welche sich leicht feucht anfühlt. Er ist zart, ziemlich fest, wenig bröckelig und von elfenbeinerner Farbe, die sich je nach Saison verändert. Die fruchtigen Aromen können je nach Herkunft variieren und werden von einer mehr oder weniger starken salzigen Grundnote unterstrichen. Besonders die Variante salé ist recht rezent.

Detailbild

Was darfs für Sie sein?

P_102_packshot_verkauf

Le Gruyère AOP doux

Begeistert besonders Geniesser, die es gerne fruchtig-mild mögen.

P_102_packshot_verkauf

Le Gruyère AOP salé

Mindestens 10 Monate gereift, intensiv-aromatisch im Geschmack.

Die Herstellung

Was alle diese Hersteller vereinigt, ist ein strenges Pflichtenheft, welches die Qualität des Käses sicherstellt. Zur Herstellung eines typischen Gruyère-Laibes von 35 kg werden rund 400 Liter frische Rohmilch benötigt. Während der mehrere Monate dauernden Reifezeit werden die Laibe mehrmals gewendet und mit Salzwasser gewaschen, was die Reifung begünstigt. Dadurch erhält Le Gruyère AOP seinen einmaligen Geschmack. Das Vorkommen von Löchern ist erwünscht, jedoch nicht erforderlich.