A traditional, passionate family business

Vorschau-Allgemeines__M1E9509

Fromages Spielhofer is a dairy which produces cheese in the best traditional manner, using cutting-edge tools. We only use milk from our region and are in close contact with the farmers.

Our family business is today run by its second generation of managers, Cédric and Florian Spielhofer. As the largest manufacturer of Tête de Moine, we are a very active exporter and deliver to over 65 countries.

Vorschau-Allgemeines__M1E9509

The white gold from Jura pastures

We work with silage-free mountain milk, bought exclusively from local farmers. Their 1200 cows in total must spend at least 120 days a year out in the pasture; their feed must be 100 % local and silage is forbidden. Every day, 7 days a week, we process over 30,000 litres of raw milk which we use to make 26 kinds of cheese as well as butter.

Everyone is talking about: Tête de Moine

mlyn

The Tête de Moine (monk’s head in French) speciality cheese was invented hundreds of years ago at the Jura monastery of Bellelay. Since 2001, it has been known as “Tête de Moine, Fromage de Bellelay AOP”, a protected designation of origin. This semi-soft cheese is scraped, forming the typical, thin rosettes. Spielhofer produces about half of all Tête de Moine cheeses.

jura_landscape

Guaranteed origin

For the Tête de Moine, we also only use milk from our region.

medal

Strict guidelines

All Spielhofer specialities are produced according to the strictest guidelines.

mlyn

On a first name basis with local farmers

Excellent cheeses can only be produced using perfect milk. And our 60 suppliers are the very embodiment of this quality. They are local farmers who work close to nature and are like family to us.

Each day, we collect the milk from the previous evening and early morning milking and process it within a few hours. The quality of the milk is checked every day.

Kuhglocke

Gruyère from the Jura mountains

The name of this hard cheese is derived from its original home, the Gruyère region in the canton of Fribourg. Today, the AOP production area includes the cantons of Fribourg, Vaud, Neuchâtel and Jura and some municipalities in the canton of Berne. Spielhofer produces “Le Gruyère” cheese according to the strict AOP specifications.

Exported worldwide

ansicht

Spielhofer is not just a cheese dairy but also a trading operation. We export our products to over 65 different countries. 80% of the Tête de Moine we produce goes abroad.

cheese-2

Star exports

Besides Tête de Moine, we also export Mont Soleil and Montagne du Jura, for example.

buket

Regional character

We only use milk from the Bernese Jura, from farmers we know in person.

Vorschau_tete_de_moine

Our craft, our passion

Manufacturing cheese is a matter of experience and tradition. Although we use the latest modern production tools, the stages of production are still exactly the same: high-quality raw milk is standardised and rennet is added followed by a bacterial culture. The mass is carefully heated, stirred and sliced until it becomes grainy in consistency. Then it is pressed, matured in brine and finally stored in the cellar... No colouring agents or preservatives are added and, of course, the strictest hygiene standards are observed: Spielhofer is certified according to ISO standards FSSC and IFS.

Führungen

A feast for the senses

Learn about the world of Tête de Moine & co during a visit to our cheese dairy. We guarantee it is a feast for the senses!

 

Individuals

You can visit at any time - take a look at our small exhibition, observe the cheese-making process, watch an interesting film, answer questions along our circuit and buy some treats in our shop.

 

Groups

From Monday to Friday, we organise visits for groups of 10 people or more. Over 1.5 or 2 hours, you will learn about the whole production process and of course wine and cheese-tasting is included!

hun
hun

Stay informed

Sign up for our newsletter We will send you news about the world of Jura cheese at random intervals.

We use cookies to personalise content, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use our website.

Familienbetrieb mit Tradition und Leidenschaft

Vorschau-Allgemeines__M1E9509

Fromages Spielhofer ist eine Käserei, in der nach alter handwerklicher Tradition aber mit modernsten Mitteln produziert wird. Wir verarbeiten ausschliesslich Milch aus der Region und stehen mit den Bauern in engstem Kontakt.

Der Familienbetrieb wird heute von Cédric und Florian Spielhofer in zweiter Generation geführt. Als wichtigster Hersteller von Tête de Moine sind wir stark im Export und beliefern über 65 Länder.

Vorschau-Allgemeines__M1E9509

Das weisse Gold von den Juraweiden

Wir arbeiten mit silofreier Bergmilch, die wir ausschliesslich von Bauern aus der Region beziehen. Ihre insgesamt rund 1200 Kühe müssen während mindestens 120 Tagen pro Jahr auf der Weide sein, ihr Futter muss zu 100% aus der Region stammen, Silofutter ist nicht erlaubt. Täglich – sieben Tage die Woche – verarbeiten wir über 30'000 Liter Rohmilch und stellen daraus 26 Sorten Käse sowie Butter her.

In aller Munde: Tête de Moine

mlyn

Die Käsespezialität Tête de Moine (frz. Mönchskopf) wurde vor hunderten von Jahren im jurassischen Kloster Bellelay erfunden. Seit 2001 trägt er die Bezeichnung «Tête de Moine, Fromage de Bellelay AOP» als geschützte Ursprungsbezeichnung. Der Halbhartkäse wird geschabt und bildet dabei die typischen feinen Rosetten. Spielhofer produziert rund die Hälfte aller Têtes de Moine.

jura_landscape

Verbürgte Herkunft

Auch für den Tête de Moine verwenden wir ausschliesslich Milch aus unserer Region.

medal

Strenge Richtlinien

Alle Spezialitäten von Spielhofer werden nach strengsten Richtlinien hergestellt.

mlyn

Auf Du und Du mit den Bauern der Region

Hervorragender Käse lässt sich nur aus einwandfreier Milch herstellen. Und für deren Qualität stehen unsere rund 60 Lieferanten gerade. Es sind naturnah produzierende Bauern aus der Region, zu welchen wir eine familiäre Beziehung pflegen.

Jeden Tag holen wir die Milch, welche am Abend zuvor und am Morgen früh gemolken wurde, und verarbeiten Sie innerhalb von wenigen Stunden. Die Qualität der Milch wird täglich kontrolliert.

Kuhglocke

Gruyère aus dem Jura

Der Name dieses Hartkäses bezieht sich auf seine ursprüngliche Herkunft, das Greyerzerland im Kanton Freiburg. Heute umfasst das AOP-Produktionsgebiet die Kantone Freiburg, Waadt, Neuenburg, Jura sowie einige Bezirke und Gemeinden des Kantons Bern. Spielhofer produziert «Le Gruyère» nach den strengen AOP-Richtlinien.

Export in alle Welt

ansicht

Spielhofer ist nicht nur eine Käserei, sondern auch ein Handelsbetrieb. Wir exportieren unsere Produkte in 65 verschiedene Länder. 80% der bei uns produzierten Têtes de Moine gehen ins Ausland.

cheese-2

Export-Hits

Neben dem Tête de Moine exportieren wir zum Beispiel auch Mont Soleil oder Montagne du Jura.

buket

Regionalität

Wir verwenden ausschliesslich Milch aus dem Berner Jura, von Bauern, die wir persönlich kennen.

Vorschau_tete_de_moine

Unser Handwerk, unsere Leidenschaft

Die Herstellung von Käse beruht auf Erfahrung und Tradition. Auch wenn heute modernste Produktionsmittel im Einsatz sind, bleiben die Arbeitsschritte genau dieselben: Hochwertige Rohmilch wird lediglich standardisiert, der Zusatz von Lab, dann einer Bakterienkultur, das sorgfältige Erhitzen, Umrühren, Schneiden bis die Masse körnig ist, das Pressen, die Reifung im Salzbad, danach im Keller… Keine Farb-, keine Konservierungsstoffe und alles selbstverständlich unter Einhaltung strengster Hygienevorschriften: Spielhofer ist zertifiziert nach den ISO-Normen FSSC und IFS.

Führungen

Ein Fest für alle Sinne

Erleben Sie die Welt von Tête de Moine & Co bei einer Führung durch unsere Käserei. Ein Fest für alle Sinne ist garantiert.

 

Einzelperson

Sie können jederzeit unsere kleine Ausstellung besuchen, einen Blick auf unsere Produktion werfen, einen interessanten Film sehen, einen Frageparcours absolvieren und in unserem Shop einkaufen.

 

Gruppen

Von Montag bis Freitag veranstalten wir für Gruppen ab 10 Personen und auf Voranmeldung Führungen. In eineinhalb bis zwei Stunden lernen Sie den gesamten Produktionsprozess kennen – natürlich inklusive Apéro und Degustation.

hun
hun

Bleiben Sie dran

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter. Wir versorgen Sie in unregelmässigen Abständen mit Neuigkeiten aus der Welt der Jurakäse.

We use cookies to personalise content, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use our website.