Tête de Moine AOP

An unmistakable characteristic “head” from the Jura mountains

Its history dates back to the 12th century, eating it is a truly unique experience and its flavour is a revelation: that’s Tête de Moine.

Invention

The Bellelay monastery was built in 1136 in the northern part of the Bernese Jura. The canons obviously had a gift for cheese-making as their product was first documented just a few years later. They paid their dues for various pieces of land with their cheese. Many documents can be found over the following centuries which refer to the use of cheese as a means of payment.

The name

The name “Tête de Moine” (monk’s head) was first used at the end of the 18th century when the region briefly belonged to the French département of Mont-Terrible. It may have been used derisively as monks used to shave their heads (the tonsure). But it may equally have just been a way of counting: how many cheeses are stored per (monk’s) head? In any case: the name still stands today and has been part of the official name, along with its original provenance, since 2001: Tête de Moine, Fromage de Bellelay AOP.

The tool

It has been proven that Tête de Moine has always been scraped instead of sliced. Scraping increases the surface area of the cheese which comes in contact with moving air, allowing the typical flavours to unfold to the full. Maybe the monks in the Abbey of Bellelay did it to enjoy a sneaky snack. Today, various scraping devices are used for this purpose, going back to the Girolle® invented in 1981. The Fleurolle sold by Spielhofer makes it very easy to create the delightful rosettes which have since become the trademark of Tête de Moine.

The cheese

Tête de Moine is a cylindrical, washed, semi-soft, raw milk cheese weighing 880 grams. It is made from a very fine-grained paste which melts slightly in the mouth. The lush grass and herbs of the pastures and natural mountain milk make Tête de Moine a product of its “terroir” and create it its incomparable flavour. It is produced according to the stringent standard of the AOP specifications and is matured for at least two and a half months on pine boards. Only eight cheese dairies in the Bernese and Jura hills are allowed to make Tête de Moine.

meules-classic-reserve-tdm-10-2@2x
Tete-de-moine-werkzeuge

 

 

What will it be?

meule-classic-tdm-14

Tête de Moine Fromage de Bellelay AOP

The melt-in-the-mouth, flavoursome, heavenly classic.

meule-classic-tdm-14-copy

Tête de Moine AOP Réserve

Matured for at least four months: smooth, aromatic, full-on flavour.

barquette-rosettes-kopie

Tête de Moine Fromage de Bellelay Rosettes

Prepared in line with tradition for your enjoyment.

Manufacturing

The cylindrical shape of the cheese is typical of Tête de Moine, as is the secret recipe and in particular the bacterial culture. Once the fresh cheese has been shaped properly and provided with a casein label, it is pressed. In then spends 24 hours in a brine bath, followed by daily brine washes over 14 days. At Spielhofer, this task is carried out entirely automatically using a robot. The Tête de Moine is then left to mature for 3 or even 4 months (for the Tête de Moine Réserve). During this period, it is still rubbed with water once or twice a week in order to maintain the right humidity level.

Quantities

Spielhofer produces about 260 tonnes of Tête de Moine and buys a further 600 tonnes from other manufacturers. About 80% is then exported to 65 countries worldwide. In order to manage such quantities, we work in three shifts on a seasonal basis. In November and December, the packing department is particularly busy as Tête de Moine is a favourite Christmas gift, notably bearing the customer branding, for example with a matching Fleurolle.

cow

Our packing units

Our farmers

Spielhofer is not an industrial company. We know all of our milk suppliers in person and visit them daily. We are aware of their concerns and the challenges they face. We treat them as partners and support them whenever possible. After all, it’s all about milk, the white gold of the Jura mountains.

Vorschau-Bauer_7016

We use cookies to personalise content, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use our website.

Tête de Moine AOP

Ein unverwechselbarer Charakterkopf aus dem Jura

Seine Geschichte reicht zurück ins 12. Jahrhundert, die Art, ihn zu geniessen ist einmalig und sein Geschmack eine Offenbarung: Das ist der Tête de Moine.

Die Erfindung

1136 wurde ganz im Norden des Berner Juras das Kloster Bellelay gebaut. Offenbar hatten die Chorherren ein Talent fürs Käsen, denn schon wenige Jahre später wurde ihr Produkt erstmals erwähnt. Mit Käse beglichen sie den Zins für verschiedene Grundstücke. Immer wieder stösst man in den folgenden Jahrhunderten auf Dokumente, welche die Verwendung des Käses als Zahlungsmittel belegen.

Der Name

«Tête de Moine» (Mönchskopf) als Bezeichnung kennt man erst seit dem ausgehenden 18. Jahrhundert, als die Region kurzzeitig zum französischen Departement Mont-Terrible gehörte. Vielleicht handelt es sich um eine spöttische Bezeichnung, da ja auch Mönche ihren Kopf schabten (die so genannte Mönchstonsur). Möglicherweise ging es auch einfach um eine Zählweise: Wie viele Käse sind pro (Mönchs-)Kopf eingelagert? So oder so: Die Bezeichnung hat sich bis heute gehalten und ist zusammen mit der ursprünglichen Herkunft seit 2001 offiziell sein vollständiger Name: Tête de Moine, Fromage de Bellelay AOP.

Das Werkzeug

Es ist belegt, dass man Tête de Moine immer schon geschabt hat, statt ihn zu schneiden. Durch das Schaben erhöht sich die Teigoberfläche, welche mit Luft in Berührung kommt, was die volle Entwicklung der typischen Aromen ermöglicht. Vielleicht haben das die Mönche der Abtei Bellelay beim heimlichen Naschen getan. Heute sind zu diesem Zweck verschiedene Schabinstrumente erhältlich, welche auf die 1981 erfundene Girolle® zurückgehen. Die von Spielhofer angebotene Fleurolle erlaubt es, problemlos die wunderschönen Rosetten zu erzeugen, welche inzwischen zu einem eigentlichen Markenzeichen des Tête de Moine geworden sind.

Der Käse

Tête de Moine ist ein zylinderförmiger, geschmierter Halbhart-Rohmilchkäse mit einem Gewicht von rund 800 Gramm und einem sehr feinen Teig, der im Mund leicht schmilzt. Das saftige, kräuterreiche Futtergras und die naturbelassene Bergmilch machen den Tête de Moine zu einem Terroir-Produkt und verleihen ihm seinen unvergleichlichen Geschmack. Er wird nach den strengen Vorgaben des AOP-Pflichtenheftes hergestellt und während mindestens zweieinhalb Monaten auf Tannenholzbrettern gepflegt. Lediglich acht Käsereien im bernischen und jurassischen Jura dürfen Tête de Moine herstellen.

meules-classic-reserve-tdm-10-2@2x
Tete-de-moine-werkzeuge

 

 

Was darfs für Sie sein?

meule-classic-tdm-14

Tête de Moine Fromage de Bellelay AOP

Der zartschmelzende, aromatische, himmlische Klassiker.

meule-classic-tdm-14-copy

Tête de Moine AOP Réserve

Mindestens vier Monate gereift: geschmeidig, würzig, rezent.

barquette-rosettes-kopie

Tête de Moine Fromage de Bellelay Rosetten

Nach allen Regeln der Kunst für Sie zum Genuss vorbereitet.

Die Herstellung

Typisch für den Tête de Moine ist – natürlich neben der geheimen Rezeptur insbesondere der Bakterienkultur – die zylindrische Form der Laibe. Nachdem der Frischkäse in die entsprechenden Formen gebracht und mit einer Kaseinmarke versehen wurde, wird er gepresst. Es folgt ein 24-stündiges Salzbad, danach eine 14 Tage dauernde tägliche Pflege mit Salzwasser. Diese Arbeit wird bei Spielhofer vollautomatisch durch einen Pflegeroboter verrichtet. Danach folgt eine Reifezeit von drei bzw. vier Monaten für den Tête de Moine Réserve. Während dieser Zeit wird er noch ein bis zwei Mal pro Woche mit Wasser eingerieben, um die Feuchtigkeit aufrecht zu erhalten.

Die Menge

Spielhofer produziert rund 260 Tonnen Tête de Moine, und kauft weitere 600 Tonnen von anderen Produzenten dazu. Rund 80% davon gehen in den Export in 65 Länder weltweit. Um derartige Mengen zu bewältigen, wird saisonal in drei Schichten gearbeitet. Im November und Dezember ist zudem die Verpackungsabteilung besonders gefragt, da der Tête de Moine ein beliebtes Weihnachtsgeschenk ist – nicht zuletzt mit kundenspezifischem Branding, beispielsweise in Kombination mit einer Fleurolle.

cow

Eine Auswahl unserer Verpackungseinheiten

Unsere Bauern

Spielhofer ist kein Industriebetrieb. Wir kennen alle unsere Milchlieferanten persönlich und besuchen sie täglich. Wir kennen ihre Sorgen und die Herausforderungen, mit denen sie konfrontiert sind. Wir begegnen ihnen als Partner und unterstützen sie wo immer möglich. Schliesslich geht es um Milch, das weisse Gold der Jurahöhen.

Vorschau-Bauer_7016

We use cookies to personalise content, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use our website.