Mont Soleil

Sun in its name and wind in its DNA

Mont Soleil is the name of a distinctive hilltop right above our town of Saint-Imier. It is not only sunny there, but also very windy - with happy cows.

Origin

For years, there has been a solar energy plant and a large wind park on Saint-Imier’s local mountain. But the cows who spend a happy life there couldn’t care less. They eat juicy herbs and delicious flowers in summer and tasty hay in winter. The farmers who work here understand their craft and take care of nature.

Manufacturing

Our house speciality benefits from the raw mountain milk of natural plants sourced from our immediate surroundings. After being pressed in 36cm Ø moulds, each cheese is lovingly looked after by hand for 14 days, then left to mature for four months in our cellars, regularly washed and kept at constant temperature and humidity levels.

The cheese

Mont Soleil is a semi-soft cheese. Its rind is a light reddish brown. The paste has sparsely dotted holes of up to 6 mm Ø. The pure, aromatic, fruity-flowery and sometimes almost sweet flavour of Mont Soleil is a clear reminder of its sunny origins.

mont_solei_010419_Detail
mont_soleil_010419
Mont Soleil
Semi-hard cheese
from CHF 5.00
To the Shop
datenblatt-preview-mont_soleil-fr
Mont-Soleil
Datenblatt | pdf (745 KB)
Mont-Soleil is the name of a distinctive hilltop right above our town of Saint-Imier. It is not only sunny there, but also ...
Download datasheet

Where can I buy Mont Soleil?

You can order Mont Soleil online or buy it directly from our shop. You can also find the cheese in well-stocked cheese shops and at the following regional supermarkets.

Available at the following shops:

Mont Soleil

Die Sonne im Namen, den Wind in den Genen

Mont Soleil ist der Name eines markanten Hügelzugs direkt über unserer Heimat Saint-Imier. Dort gibt es nicht nur Sonne, sondern auch viel Wind – und glückliche Kühe.

Die Herkunft

Seit Jahren gibt es auf dem Hausberg von St. Imier eine Photovoltaik-Versuchsanstalt sowie einen grossen Windpark. Doch das alles ist den Kühen, die hier ein durch und durch glückliches Dasein fristen, vollkommen egal. Im Sommer saftige Kräuter und schmackhafte Blumen, im Winter herrliches Heu. Hier arbeiten Bauern, die ihr Handwerk verstehen und zur Natur Sorge tragen.

Die Herstellung

Unsere Hausspezialität profitiert von der natürlichen Flora frischer Bergrohmilch aus der unmittelbaren Umgebung. Nach dem Pressen in Formen von rund 36 cm Durchmesser wird jeder Laib 14 Tage lang liebevoll von Hand gepflegt, danach reift er vier Monate lang in unseren Kellern, bei konstanter Temperatur und Feuchtigkeit sowie regelmässiger Schmierung.

Der Käse

Mont Soleil ist ein Halbhartkäse. Seine Rinde zeigt ein leicht rötliches Braun. Der Teig weist eine eher spärliche Lochung von bis zu 6mm auf. Der aromatisch-reine, fruchtig-blumige, manchmal fast süssliche Geschmack des Mont Soleil erinnert unweigerlich an seine sonnendurchflutete Herkunft.

mont_solei_010419_Detail
mont_solei_010419_Detail
Mont Soleil
Halbhartkäse
ab CHF 5.00
Zum Shop
datenblatt-preview-mont_soleil-de
Mont-Soleil
Datenblatt | pdf (747 kB)
Mont-Soleil ist der Name eines markanten Hügelzugs direkt über unserer Heimat Saint-Imier. Dort gibt es nicht nur Sonne, sondern ...
Datenblatt herunterladen

Wo erhalte ich den Mont Soleil?

Sie können den Mont Soleil bei uns online bestellen oder direkt im Laden kaufen. Ausserdem erhalten Sie den Käse im gut sortierten Käsehandel sowie regional bei folgenden Grossverteilern.

Im Sortiment dieser Detailhändler: